Event Details

29 May 2020, Fri


Victoria Concert Hall

Event is cancelled

Winner of six Gramophone Awards, the much-lauded Pavel Haas Quartet is named after the Czech composer Pavel Haas (1899–1944). Their reputation for championing the music – both familiar and unfamiliar – of their homeland is showcased in this programme of Dvořák’s popular American String Quartet and the work of the early 20th century Erwin Schulhoff. The concert ends with the titanic Op. 130 Quartet by Beethoven, one of his final works. The PHQ perform it in its original version with the famous Grosse Fuge or “Great Fugue”, which Igor Stravinsky called "an absolutely contemporary piece of music that will be contemporary forever."

Their account of the American Quartet belongs alongside the greatest performances on disc. In this repertoire, they are simply matchless today. (THE SUNDAY TIMES)

Their sound is, as ever, immediately recognisable – partly due to the sheer richness of timbre but also the sense of four personalities at play… At times it is hard to believe you are in the presence of only four players, so intense is the sound. (GRAMOPHONE)


  • Veronika Jarůšková, violin
  • Marek Zwiebel, violin
  • Jiří Kabát, viola
  • Peter Jarůšek, cello




String Quartet No. 1


String Quartet No. 12 in F major, Op. 96 "American"




String Quartet No. 13 in B-flat major, Op. 130


Great Fugue, Op. 133